The Packages page displays all the projects published from UiPath Studio, as well as the ones that were manually uploaded. For more information, see Publishing a Project from Studio to Orchestrator. A project becomes a package when it is published to Orchestrator.
To display this page, click the Packages tab, in the Processes page.
On this page, a user can view and delete versions of all the published package. For more information, see Deleting Package Versions.
A package version can have the following statuses:
- Active - it was at some point deployed to a process; even if it is no longer used in a process, the package version still remains Active.
- Inactive - it was NEVER deployed to a process (only these packages can be deleted).
For example, let's say we have a package with 3 versions: v1, v2 and v3. v1 and v3 have been deployed to processes, and are therefore active, even if v1 is no longer used now. v2 was never included in a processes, and is therefore inactive. Because v1 and v3 are active, they cannot be deleted from Orchestrator's packages feed, whereas v2 can be removed because it is inactive.
Packages published to Orchestrator are sent to a default web app that uses the NuGet protocol (NuGet, MyGet). On the Orchestrator machine, the folder path is displayed in the
web.config file, under the
NuGet.Packages.Path parameter. On the Robot machine, this folder path is set in the
NuGetServerUrl parameter, in the
UiPath.settings file. If your Robot is not connected to Orchestrator, the default location of the packages is
Orchestrator uses this NuGet app to maintain package versions. When you deploy a package to an environment, the package is distributed to each of the Robots in the indicated environment (in the
%ALLUSERSPROFILE%\UiPath\Projects folder), thus ensuring that the Robots know what to execute.
Additionally, the activities used in the workflow are also pushed to Orchestrator, in a dedicated NuGet feed (provided in the
NuGet.Activities.Path parameter, in the
web.config file). This enables the Robot to access the proper versions of activities when it needs to execute a process. For more information, see About the Activities Feed.
To view all available versions of a package, click the corresponding Versions button. The Package Versions window is displayed.
Additionally, you can manually upload a package. This functionality is useful when, for example, the Studio in which you design your workflows is not connected to Orchestrator. For more information, see Manually Uploading a Package to Orchestrator.
If you assign a package to a process, the version that is currently in use is displayed in the Processes page, in the Version column.
Each time a package is deployed to an environment, it is copied to all the Robot machines associated with that environment, in the
Activities used in Studio packages are stored in a NuGet feed that Orchestrator has access to. As a result, each time you deploy a package to an environment, the activities are also sent to the Robot machines that are part of that environment. For more information, see About the Activities Feed.
Files that are not created during the execution of an automation project become read-only when you publish the indicated package to Orchestrator. As a result, if you start the process from Orchestrator, you can only read the file, and not write to it. If your business process requires you to write in a specific file at some point, be sure to create it during the execution of the package.